DID YOU KNOW?
(from Poole’s History of Poland, 1890)
“Tripp Pond took its name from one Richard Tripp who first settled near its southern extremity. It is a most beautiful sheet of water of no great depth, surrounded by fine and highly cultivated farms and void of bold and rugged shores. Near the western terminus of this pond is a large meadow, between which and the shore is a huge embankment nearly a mile in length, and some ten to twelve feet in breadth, with an average height of some six feet. No skilled engineer could construct anything with more accuracy or evidence of artistic skill. No person has the least positive knowledge of its origin or purpose, but it is supposed to be the work of beavers. It must have existed for ages, as the remains of gigantic trees which have grown on its summit, and long since gone to decay, are still plainly visible.”
The Promised Land: the area Northwest of the Tripp Lake Camp and behind the Cove. Doesn’t it sound positively biblical? However, “This beautiful locality took it name from the following circumstance:
Before its settlement it was owned by the Emmerson Brothers of Portland and one of the firm dying, the undivided half was held in trust until the heirs should become of age. About 1820 Wm. and Chas. Brooks came from Pigeon Hill and felled an opening, but seeing no chance of a title, which was promised as soon as the heirs should become of age, they abandoned it. About 1830, John and Daniel, sons of Israel Herrick, came and occupied it for a season, but left for the same reason. This gave its name as being ‘promised to the children of Israel.’ The first house was built by Simeon Denning, who soon left for want of a title. Reuben Blair came about 1835 and built a log house on the spot now occupied by his grandsons, L.C and F.M Blair. Next came John Emery, who was soon followed by Wm Perkins, Wm Lunt, Jasper Haskell, Joseph Emery and Sprague Keene, second.”
Many thanks to Ellie Kelley for the loan of this fascinating book. More to follow in the Spring.